The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: how do you/did you earn a living?

Default how do you/did you earn a living?

i thought it might be interesting if we knew what each other does for work, or did for work if retired. it might give our discussions an additional dimension, and help us to understand each other better.

i'll start; i was a machinist in several small shops in the mid 70's, then went to work as a machinist in a shipyard that builds warships for the U.S. Navy for 20 years before taking a job in design at that same shipyard. hopefully i'll retire from that job in another 6 or 7 years.

being a shipbuilder has been a rich and rewarding career. though my higher education was supposed to take me in another direction, i wouldn't change a thing if i had it to do over again.-Paul
    there's no good reason to fatten up a retriever.

Cool thread idea. I am a machinist/toolmaker also. I work at a factory that manufactures Bosch washing machines and dryers. I went through a 3.5 year apprenticeship fresh out of high school and received a degree in Manufacturing technology. Now, I have gone back to school and I am working on two additional degrees because I want to get a job teaching at the local college. I have quite a bit longer than you before I retire though...
    Last edited by ducknwork; 12-21-2009 at 07:28 PM.

Captain on municipal fire department 10 years away from retirement.

My dad started a tree service in Rye, NY after ww2. Rye's an affluent town of stockbrokers and corporate ceo's. I grew into that business and worked there until 7 years ago, when I sold it and the family home to move up to Somers Connecticut to be with my wife and kids. I immediately got bored, bought all new equipment and started a new business. It's a very small hobby business with no employees, but i love what I do, so....that's it.