RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

Switching programs?

5K views 45 replies 22 participants last post by  john fallon 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I am a total rookie at retriever training and I have a 7 month BLF. With that being said, I am currently using the Wildrose Gentleman's Gun Dog DVD, but after further review of this site, it sounds like that program may not be as good and does not go into much detail on what to do when problems arise, especially at a young age. I am curious about what people think about switching programs to say the Stawski Fowl Dawg series for example? I didn't really want to use an e-collar primarily for the simple fact that I am trying to train a dog on a budget and couldn't spend the money on one. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
just like a kid changing school midterm. you will back up and review and go over things the dog may, or may not know. Nothing wrong with changing, or upgrading from older to newer. Best thing my early mentors taught me was read EVERYTHING you can get your hands on and take EVERYTHING with a grain of salt. This is not saying you should hop-scotch about with a dog. You should pick a program and follow it for the first few dogs. At least until you can sit and visualize the process in your head. When you get to that point is when you start pondering changing and tweaking and creating a way you will do things. And in this day and age more and more people are taking a bit from one and a bit from another, adding a handful of personal experience and stirring up what they are comfortable with. So, follow a program that you like. But if you start one and feel it lame. The Smart Change, to a Total Retriever, will not lead you a Fowl.

#7 ·
Regardless of what program you choose, you will find a brushup on the prinicples if animal learning very helpful. Karen Pryor's book, Don't Shoot the Dog , is well written, short, a good read, and a good review of animal learning.

#8 ·