The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on how to handle new dog.

Default Advice on how to handle new dog.

I recently aquired a 2 year old black lab male, he has all the drive to retrive that you could ask for,but he has has no formal obedience training of any kind. Also I am by no means a professional dog trainer. What should be my first steps in getting this dog started on the right track? I just want him to be a well mannered hunting dog not a perfect trial dog or hunt test dog just a hunting buddy that will retrieve the game of the day whethr it be ducks, geese, or doves. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Are you willing to invest time and resources into this dog to the extent a working retriever deserves? Because Basic are Basics, and that's what he deserves. He's not aware of how old he is, so treat him like the new dog he is. Give him the training, and see how he does without placing unfair expectations upon him due to age.

Evan
    "Prepare your dog in such a manner that the work he is normally called upon to do under-whelms him, not overwhelms him." ~ Evan Graham

“People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it.”

― George Bernard Shaw

The Smartwork System for Retriever Training (link)
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?...59&ref=profile