FT rules do not determine when or if to correct. Missing a mark is not a reason to correct. Taking the wrong route to a mark can be a reason to handle but correction is not always part of handling.
Recent example:Technical all-age single, 3 water entries all tight to the shore. Dog cheats 3rd entry stopped brought back into 2nd piece of water stopped and cast. No correction. If after cast dog takes 3rd piece of water, lesson learned. If cheats again stop-correct- back to 2nd piece of water and cast.