RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

Hello

3K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  Jen Marenich 
#1 ·
Hi, introducing myself. My name is Jen. I have two male black labs, and soon will have a third. Lots of good info on here from people who have experienced a lot. Not sure how often I'll be on here, or if I'll be able to contribute much, but here I am.

#3 ·
Okay, I'll do a little better introduction, after all, I want some of you guys to think I'm okay in case I ever need some advice;) I have been training dogs for about 10 years. I have a lot of background in competition obedience and agility. Some in Hunt tests, both AKC and HRC. I used to work at a dog training facility here in Bay City, but it was primarily pet training and it wasn't what I was into. used to instruct public obedience classes which drove me absolutely crazy.

Ben (About Time Ben) is the first dog I've ever had, who started this whole adventure. He was a lucky find in the newspaper, before I knew any better. He is now 11 1/2 years old and Semi-retired. His accomplishments are this: HRC Hunting Retriever title (1 pass toward HRCH which I don't know if we'll finish due to his age... he still loves to do the work, but I think his eyes aren't quite what they used to be) UKC Utility Dog, Grand Agility Champion, Rally Obedience Champion, AKC Senior Hunter, Utility Dog, Agility Excellent, Master Excellent Jumper, Rally Excellent. Also one hell of a hunting dog. He has taught me a lot. I used to question whether an e-collar was necessary, even though I wasn't against them. Ben taught me how valuable a tool it can be. So don't think that because I have a background in agility/obedience I am against anything not "Positive Training"