The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Trained dog prices?

Default Trained dog prices?

Found this ad on a forum that I read. "Choctaws Huckleberry Heathen "Finn" is out of two HRCH parents. Sire is a 500 pt HRCH w one grand pass. This was his first season to hunt picking up about 50-60 birds. Steady, honors, handles well for a youngster, blinds out to 200 yards. (22 mo). He is ready to run seasoned tests. $4,000.00" Since I'm new to Labs and what they are worth after training, would this be a good price for a dog that has been trained and hunted for one season? His pedigree on the Dam's side is pretty good with 8 dogs in the Retriever Hall of fame. That being said that doesn't mean that he will be just as good as his predecessors or does it? Any guideance would be appreciated.

I just sold one just like that for $6500.
    MP
    The pain of regret is much worse than the pain of hard work.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Perry View Post
    I just sold one just like that for $6500.
    MP
    First thanks for the reply.

Ok. I also forgot to add that the title of his add stated Finished Yellow Lab for sale. Had a guy tell me that the price was too much for this type of dog becasue he didn't have a finsihed title to his name. So is there a difference there whether he has a finished title or not to his name? Does that affect the price any?

Get someone that knows what finished level work is, to have a "test drive" with the dog/owner. Also I see no mention of any health clearances on this dog or his parents. Have you asked or looked at this?
    Kendall Layne

HR(2xHRCH) Ashland's Big Black Ruby to Go SH
    Dorie's Lady of the Lake(1K bird club)

Never play leap frog with a unicorn.

Quote Originally Posted by Duckquilizer View Post