The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do?

Default What to do?

I am brand new to training a hunting retriever. My pup, Kimber is now 15 weeks old and coming right along. She understands all of the basic obedience commands, she is enthusiastic about retrieving her canvas dummy-I typically take her out for a few easy retrieves on land after work. She is going to AKC Star Puppy class once a week to be socialized, and we often go on walks through fields and woods and getting her used to water by crossing shallow creeks. I've introduced the gun from a distance while she is eating, and seems to not mind.
    With all of this, is there something I should be focused on, introducing, or even avoiding at this point? My only sources of training research are "Training Your Retriever" by James Lamb Free and the DVD, Sound Beginnings with Jackie Mertens, and of course help from forums.
    Any help would be absolutely awesome! This is my first time and I just want to get the best dog I possibly can, but also learn as much as I can for the future.

Thanks!
    Kyle

Get the Hillman DVD and start on that program. While progressing through that decide what formal program to use to further your training. Join a club, several of them in the Nashville area. That I suspect will lead to a training group you and the dog are comfortable with.

ENJOY the process.