The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media

Thread: 57 Days Old....How far?

Default 57 Days Old....How far?

As the title states, pup is 57 days today. We can go out to our pond and pup knows bumpers are coming. He gets very excited. I've been using a part of the pond where we put a gradual slope if/when we ever wanted to put boat in the water. Last night pup jumps off in the pond where there's a steep drop off (2-3' from water to bank) and I have to pull him out. Then we go to the sloped part and toss a few bumpers. About the second or third bumper he swims way past the bumper but eventually finds the bumper and makes the retrieve. Well, as I've stated, he's a family companion first. After seeing these two things happen the wife and boys are worried for the pup. Since I'm a newbie, they say I'm rushing things and I'm going to cause the pup to drown. Can some more experienced people tell me how far you toss the bumper for a young pup? If I get answers like I believe I will then I'm going to let them read your post. If not....well, I guess I'll adjust to your suggestions. Thanks gals and guys!!

57 days old is still really really young. I wouldn't go thrownin the bumper too far. probably like 15 yards or so and I would definetly make sure I could get to him quickly when I did throw.

you have plenty of time to train him and work on increasing distance. just try to bond with him and enjoy his puppy days while they last.

Quote Originally Posted by straightsix View Post
    57 days old is still really really young. I wouldn't go thrownin the bumper too far. probably like 15 yards or so and I would definetly make sure I could get to him quickly when I did throw.

you have plenty of time to train him and work on increasing distance. just try to bond with him and enjoy his puppy days while they last.