The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HT...How can a newbie help?

Default HT...How can a newbie help?

As a newbie, I'm going to attend my clubs (recently joined) HRC event in September. I've never been to a HT or FT. I do want to do a little observing; however, I am more than willing to do my part in helping. I hear of "good" bird throwers and such. As a newbie who has never done any of this, what can I do (and not screw up) to help? Just trying to get an idea of what I can expect. I'm going to try and get with the VP of the club, who's also going to train my pup, and see if I can come watch him train between now and Sept to get some sort of idea. I'm also going to try and get to another club's HT to observe as well.

My suggestion is to ask the HT chair or committee what you can help with. There is NEVER enough help and I am sure they will put you to work.
    That said do,let them know this is your fist event and that you would like to take it in. If I were chair, or committee member, I would appreciate your offer, but would encourage you to spend the weekend watching and learning. There will be plenty more test to help with. If you really want to show you want to be a part an help, offer to help clean up and put equipment away. That is always a though one because everybody wants to get home. Helping at the end will allow you to,take everything in and still make a contributions.
    If they have a tailgate and/or raffle those are good things to help with, again because they take place at the end of the day. There are also,organizations things you could help with before.
    JUST ASK!!!!

Welcome to the addiction