The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Outdoor Media
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Trainer Communication

Default Trainer Communication

Let me begin by saying that this is my first time sending a dog to a trainer. How often should I expect to hear from the trainer? Weekly?, less often?

I ask my trainer to and he knows that I like weekly reports and I don't feel bad about calling/texting whenever I want. I'm paying the bill (in cash and on time) and have never been told I couldn't call/text. Now saying that, if you sent your pup for OB, there is not a lot to report the first couple weeks except that the pup is adjusting and listening. But, when you pick it up, WOW! what a difference! The main thing is let the trainer train. So the answer to your question is yes weekly or less often.

Quote Originally Posted by 11Chuck View Post
    Let me begin by saying that this is my first time sending a dog to a trainer. How often should I expect to hear from the trainer? Weekly?, less often?
    Depends on the trainer, it could be anywhere from daily to never

I hope the trainer I use is understanding. LOL
    I won't mess with it for first 30 days as this is the start of the bonding and getting started. So to hear from him a couple times I will be good with after that I don't think a weekly report is to much and eventually Ill be visiting each weekend for my training.
    The foundation to a great retriever is obedience.
    Firestorms Full Throttle Chevy aka Callie-Roo 7/5/2007 - 10/25/2013 I miss you every day
    Proud owner of Kona's Surfer Girl, aka Loki.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary Southall View Post