The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Gun Dog Broker
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: NE Maryland Trainers

Default NE Maryland Trainers

After what seems forever, I've finally put a deposit down on a new pup which will be ready to go home in the middle of September. Over the past few months, I have been trying to read and absorb as much as possible from this forum. This will be my first dog to train formally and I realize that I am a complete newbie at this. The one suggestion that I see over and over is that a trainer can be a huge help with reading a dog and adjusting the training to fit the dog - something that comes only comes with experience.

I know there are several good trainers in the DE, MD, southeastern PA area. My question is if there are any trainers that do not require the dog to be sent away to complete basics and transition? I would like to work with the dog and learn as much as possible. My goal at this point is just to get a JH level dog and re-evaluate once we get there. I have no grand illusions of getting to the Nat Amateurs with my first dog. Thanks in advance.

Jeff

If you do not want to send your dog away and your goal is to get to the JH level I would suggest that you join your local retriever club, hook up with some good training partners, have fun and train the dog yourself.

Thanks for the reply. I will definitely look into a club in the area.

My brother has a Pudelpointer. Really neat dogs. I have never seen another one around.