Handle on Head Shaking
The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Wildear
Retriever Coach
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Handle on Head Shaking

Default Handle on Head Shaking

6-7 month old pup. Very slowly getting into a hold with sit, still needs guidance to keep it in her mouth. I do need some advice on stopping her from shaking the bajeezus out of everything she retrieves! I've tried the Dokken but that ends up hurting me when the rope slaps my leg. Are there any bumpers that have something that will, for a lack of a better word, smack her when she shakes it?

I want her to learn on her own, so to speak, I've tried taking the bumpers away when she shakes them, saying no. I'm a novice so I could use the help. Her OB is pretty good but she still needs work and reminding.

She shakes the most on her way to me or when she tries to "give it to me." She is also pretty mouthy, dropping and chewing on it when working hold with the bumper.

2. Remove Advertisements
    RetrieverTraining.net
    Advertisements

Sounds like a good pup. That's only 6 or 7 months old.

She doesn't need to be punished by the objects that you want her to retrieve. In fact, that will likely make the problem worse.

What she needs, is to be trained to a standard of obedience, that isn't allowed to change when she has something in her mouth.

"Here" and "sit" need to become enforceable commands. First.
    Then, you can start working on "hold".

You might think that her OB is "pretty good".
    But it probably isn't nearly as good as you think it is.
    Considering the fact that God limited the intelligence of man, it seems unfair that he did not also limit his stupidity". -Unknown