Big Game preference points??? GDG
The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Wildear
Retriever Coach
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Big Game preference points??? GDG

Default Big Game preference points??? GDG

I'm a two year resident of Colorado, with only two points, I primarily hunt waterfowl in Co, Ks, and Il, white-tail in Illinois at the family farm, turkeys in Kansas, and accumulate points in Colorado for all big game species. I want to start branching out to other states and accumulate points for Elk, Pronghorn, and Muledeer. Any recommendations on dirictions/states and areas (doesn't have to be your honey-hole ridge)? We barely understand Colorado and since we are from Illinois where you can buy a tag and be in your stand in an hour, we are new to draws, points and GMU's. Any help is appreciated.
    -Jacob
    HR Tripple Js Miss Remi Roo

2. Remove Advertisements
    RetrieverTraining.net
    Advertisements

I listen to a podcast that I recommend called "Meat Eater Podcast" with steven rinella...if your familiar with his show and him. He always recommends people put in for tags because a lot of states have a lottery but it takes a wile to actually win that tag. But to your question, white river national forest I believe it's called is a public land area for elk in CO. But to your point of "be in the stand in a hour"...remember that's what 90% of public land guys will do. Throwing on a pack and moving, camping over night etc is always a good idea to avoid over hunted areas, lots of human presence.

Not sure what area they hunt but knew 6 guy that go hunt every year as non res.

They are bow hunting and bow tags are not a draw in CO from what they have told me. I'll get with them

5. Remove Advertisements
    RetrieverTraining.net
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by Boykin View Post