Seasoned/Senior Hunt Test?
The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Wildear
Retriever Coach
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Seasoned/Senior Hunt Test?

Default Seasoned/Senior Hunt Test?

I am new to the hunt test world and have only ran my dog in 2 started test for line experience which he blew out of the water. Someone please tell me in great detail what I will have to be prepared for in a seasoned and/or senior hunt test... Line manners? Cheating the bank? Honoring? Please tell me anything and everything that I will need to prepare for as well as all of the things that I will not be able to do that will get my dog and I failed. All the way from walk ups to the time I take him off the line. Little background info. He has been through the basics, 3HC, FTP, TT, Pattern blinds, Swim by. He is currently running blinds with marks thrown in every now and then when I have help. We have worked a little on diversions but not too heavily. Just a little toss of a bumper from me when he's on the way back with a bumper. He is not great on blinds because once hunting season started we don't train as much but he will get to them one way or another. Sometimes he steps on them, sometimes he doesn't. By spring test season he will be good/great on blinds from what I can foresee.

2. Remove Advertisements
    RetrieverTraining.net
    Advertisements

Best thing you can do from the start is download the rule books from both HRC and AKC. lots of information on what you can and cannot do. also tells you want the judges need to look at. What part of the country or you from. Also join a local club and talk to members that have run all levels of hunt test.

Seasoned test:
    Land double with blind outside of marks. You will shoot in the direction before running the blind.
    Water double with blind outside of marks. You will shoot same as land blind.