I would like to hear from HRC judges on this... but am open to others' thoughts.
I have heard this from some fairly exp HRC participants (I am not exp much with HRC, having run 4 finished tests, thus the question) this is especially true for the grand...... Seems to me a dog could be angling away from the line, be given a cast and not make enough change in direction, but run parallel to the line, then, given another cast to correct and still not be 'out of the corridor'. I get it if the dog is unable to negotiate hazards of the blind, is digging back, scalloping, etc, but if the dog is in some area which has no hazards and takes a cast, but not enough of one to cross the line... so what?
I have read the rules and don't read anywhere in there about the dog 'crossing the line to the blind' being a requirement.
I guess I would rather have my dog take 3 casts to the blind, than 6 - as long as we negotiated the hazards accordingly. And even so, a dog that ping pongs back and forth could still not negotiate the hazards of the blind as the judges would like.