Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Wildear
Retriever Coach
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Glory of Defeat

Default The Glory of Defeat

This is long. Ok...

The Glory of Defeat
    I know, right? How can there be glory in defeat?
    I entered my young dog, Smarty, in her first and my second derby this week. I went in anticipation of having ‘our asses’ handed to us. I mean, let’s face it. I am an amateur trainer who trains alone 95% of the time. I have very limited access to training grounds, esp those required for gaining the needed experience on technical water and the long marks seen in trials. I also happened to enter a trial in which the Bill Hillmann and his fantastic young dog Shadow were running, Mary Tatum, and her dog Songbird(sister to Shadow), and another incredibly talented dog named ‘Rain’ handled by Dan Devoes – who is the top derby dog, currently, for this year. (If I am not mistaken). So, yeah….

It is safe to say I felt intimidated because of my lack of experience running field trials - the many (many) walks to the line at hunt tests did not really make it any easier waling to the line on the first series of our first derby together. But, I knew I would regret not entering Smarty in at least one derby, before she aged out. (And I don't even want to talk about the one I missed 2 weeks ago because I somehow managed to lose a day of the week). However, by the time I walked to the line for the fourth series, it felt not unlike the same feeling of walking to the line at a hunt test. Everyone was incredibly friendly and there was always cheering going on for the dogs as they made their way through the day.