Help out a Rookie!!!
The RetrieverTraining.Net Forums The Retriever Academy
Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy
Hawkeye Media Gunners Up Tritronics Wildear
Retriever Coach
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help out a Rookie!!!

Default Help out a Rookie!!!

Hello, I am very new to the sport and I've been shopping for a new puppy to train but before I spend money on a dog I want to get familiar with the training process and the approach I need to take. I was just wanting some thoughts on training literature/DVDs stuff like that to begin the process of training a retriever. Any information would help. Thanks!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    RetrieverTraining.net
    Advertisements

Julies book training the pointing labrador is a great book. Even if your not going to go pointing lab. There is also a newer dvd out made by gary buys. I've heard its good

i am no veterine by no means but i found Smart Works to be very helpful with my training

5. Remove Advertisements
    RetrieverTraining.net
    Advertisements

Try to do a lot of reading- books, this website, etc. Then, get on Youtube, and watch every video you can find about training retrievers (At the Line is a series of short, but very informative clips). Use these resources to become familiar with the different concepts that you will encounter in the training program you will eventually use. Remember though, that you don't necessarily want to mix up the different programs- the goal here is to learn the terminology, and become familiar with the various skills you will need to teach the dog.

Recommended reading: 10-Minute Retriever by John and Amy Dahl
    Recommended training programs: Evan Graham's Smartworks puppy DVD for the puppy level, then Judy Aycock/Danny Farmer's Retriever Training Basics DVD. Also, Total Retriever Training with Mike Lardy (I think you will need the 3 volumes of training articles to cover some of the details not covered in the DVDs).