RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, this is my first time on this forum. I'm pretty new to the world of hunting and dog training, but I've gotten my 1 year old lab pretty far with field training and she will retrieve anything upland related without hesitation. She got on her first grouse last week and didn't even bat an eye at retrieving it, but today for Colorado's duck opener, she wouldnt retrieve any of the ducks we shot out of the water. She marked them just fine, would swim out to them, then turn right around after getting to the duck, no matter how many times i sent her for it or even threw it in the water myself. On land, I tossed it maybe 10 yards out and sent her for it, and after giving it a good sniff, picked it up by the wing at first, then around the body no problem. so we went back to the water and I tossed it out and again, wanted nothing to do with it. Any suggestions on how I can get her to actually pick up a duck in the water, or do y'all think it'll click eventually and it wont be an issue?

·
Registered
2,547 Posts
Hi Burgers ,
I'm not new to the forum or new to dog training , or the world of hunting , but that doesn't make me an expert.
A couple of weeks back , I took a clients dog to a group training day (It was at my place for Basic training like the usual program of heel/sit, stay, lining/casting, stop whistle , remote casting/re-call/deliver to hand with dummy/bumper on land or water ) This Guy' decides on a simple splash of a duck in water is the easiest thing in the world to get out too, and just ignores on the 'get' !....

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Burgers ,
I'm not new to the forum or new to dog training , or the world of hunting , but that doesn't make me an expert.