RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you can only have one which would it be and why? To those of you who own both which would you prefer if you could only have just one. Pros and Cons? Let's hear your preferred brand too.

Thanks Ken
Michigander Kennels

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
You carry a topper with you all of the time, and it limits what you can do with your pickup. The trailer makes it easier to haul dogs, and doesn't get carried with you to work or wherever you take your truck.

If you need to use an ATV, either get ramps for your truck or set up your trailer to accept your ATV. My preference is to put the ATV on the trailer just to keep the bed of the truck open.

·
Registered
5,556 Posts
i have a topper. i like it because i take my dogs with me everywhere, every day and don't need to "hook up" to go. i am a general contractor and visit several jobs daily and the dogs are always there. i have incredible dry storage in my topper so i can carry work tools as well as training gear. i added verticle bars to the topper's rack and it handles wingers, ladders, canoe, rebar....whatever. it is like having a panel truck with ladder rack and dog transport. i don't find it limiting, i find it liberating! if i need atv i have a 6 x 10 utility for that.

if i used a trailer i would probably not take the time to hook up 50% of the time. i never get stuck on a muddy jobsite pulling a trailer and i have never jack knifed my topper into the side of my truck! lol

it's all a compromise, every person has different and multiple reasons for owning a truck. pick what's best for you!

(mine is ainley)

·
Registered
449 Posts
I am planning on getting a topper. I want to be able to pull a travel trailer with me when going out of state to train for a month or so. I don't care for long term hotel rooms.

·
Registered
5,636 Posts