RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 8 month lab, I recently joined a hunting retriever club and we have a training day once a month. She started to run with enthusiasm out to retriever the ducks but she hesitates to bring them back an when she does she either nibbles on it a little bit or drags it by the head on the way in, any recommendations on correcting this. Does anyone recommend sending her off to ff? I would rather do it myself to get experience even though I am a newbie at the hunting retriever training. Also when me and my pup around other dogs such as th club training day she does not respond well to commands such as here.

·
Registered
3,001 Posts
If you have a pro near you that does FF by classes or private lesson instruction, then you could work in it yourself , but if there isnt one close that is willing to do that.(many of us just "take" dogs in). But FF is definitely what your girl needs.

·
Registered
1,876 Posts
Formalizing here will help clean up the return side of the retrieve, I have used Smartworks for my yard work and I like Evans way of formalizing the here command.
whether you FF yourself or higher it out,some reading material will help you understand the procces you are about to embark on for a fully trained retriever,good luck and enjoy.

·
Registered
285 Posts
If this is the first time your dog has seen a duck, I don't think it is necessary to rush to the training table over this issue alone. Think about it this way. Have you ever had to move a large box? You know you can do it, it is within your physical abilities, but you need to take a moment to figure out how you're going to wrap your arms around it. If the dog is otherwise retrieving, I would suspect that more experience and practice with birds would go a long way towards improving the dog's form on retrieving ducks.