RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the retriever world. I grew up with Springers that we had trained and trialed. Now that I'm in Mississippi, retriever training has become my new favorite hobby! I'm on my first retriever, a British lab from Mark Hairfield (Southaven Kennels) here in MS. She's 11 months old, moving along very well (faster than I can keep up), and passed her first HRC test this weekend, which was my first time to handle. We ran Seasoned, and it was great to have a pass on the first go.

I'm looking forward to a lifetime hobby of training retrievers, and seeing my kids handle dogs as junior handles in the upcoming years!

·
Registered
449 Posts
Congrats. That first one is amazing, you will never forget it. Have fun and you will probably have your second dog in 2 years.:D

·
Registered
9,442 Posts
Pictures - worthless other wise! ;) Congrats on your pass...BTW you are now hopelessly addicted! There is no way to escape! Resistance is futile!!

FOM

·
Registered
227 Posts
Good for you, gives me hope as a first time handler looking forward to my first Test this spring.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Pictures - worthless other wise! ;) Congrats on your pass...BTW you are now hopelessly addicted! There is no way to escape! Resistance is futile!!

FOM
FOM's right, you're in trouble now. Enjoy the ride.

·
Registered
952 Posts
Congratulations! My buddy got his first Finished pass at the same test (Southern Flight, I assume) with his AWS pup. His pup (Red) is a puppy that my Gumbo sired. You're hooked for life; have fun.
Professor

·
Registered
71 Posts