RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi THere,

I have a 6 month old lab. My pup has lots of desire for her retrieves on singles in a field setting no problems marking or finding the mark. She runs out full speed picks up the mark quick and heads straight back to me.

But when she is comfortable in a area or if it's not along retrieve say over 40 yards she plays on the way back like shaking her head etc. Suzy returns good but cuts left or right when she is within 10-20 feet of me.

I've been doing retrieves on the check cord for 2 months now and tried the running away excited etc ..tactics which works to get her more excited but it just makes her want to play with the dummy more.
She only sees the bumpers when were training. So I don't know why she thinks they are toys LOL!

Is this normal behavior for a pup her age? Again this is my first retriever so I'm not entirely sure what to expect from her at this point.

G

·
LuvMyLab said:
Hi THere,

I have a 6 month old lab. My pup has lots of desire for her retrieves on singles in a field setting no problems marking or finding the mark. She runs out full speed picks up the mark quick and heads straight back to me.

But when she is comfortable in a area or if it's not along retrieve say over 40 yards she plays on the way back like shaking her head etc. Suzy returns good but cuts left or right when she is within 10-20 feet of me.

I've been doing retrieves on the check cord for 2 months now and tried the running away excited etc ..tactics which works to get her more excited but it just makes her want to play with the dummy more.
She only sees the bumpers when were training. So I don't know why she thinks they are toys LOL!

Is this normal behavior for a pup her age? Again this is my first retriever so I'm not entirely sure what to expect from her at this point.