RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,

My name is Steve and this is my first day as a member of this forum. I have a five month old chocolate Lab named BUB. This is my first time training a gun dog and I have a lot to learn! :) I live in Alaska so there is not as many resources available locally as say the states. I have got some great help from a couple of buddies in the area who do great with there dogs, and have way more expierence then me. However I hate to over use there help because they have there dogs to train. In short I would very much appreciate any and all tips/recommendations any body could provide for a first time trainer. It is quickly becoming a passion and I love my dog so i don't want to screw this up!

Thank You All,

Steve and BUB

·
Registered
952 Posts
Get a good book/video training program. Smartworks by Evan Graham is good.

·
Registered
675 Posts
Welcome Steve and Bub!! Lots of good info and helpful folks here. Good luck to you and your new addition with whatever path you two choose.

·
Registered
2,577 Posts
Hello Everyone,

My name is Steve and this is my first day as a member of this forum. I have a five month old chocolate Lab named BUB. This is my first time training a gun dog and I have a lot to learn! :) I live in Alaska so there is not as many resources available locally as say the states. I have got some great help from a couple of buddies in the area who do great with there dogs, and have way more expierence then me. However I hate to over use there help because they have there dogs to train. In short I would very much appreciate any and all tips/recommendations any body could provide for a first time trainer. It is quickly becoming a passion and I love my dog so i don't want to screw this up!

Thank You All,

Steve and BUB
If you help your buddies with their dogs in training, I can't see why they would not help you. Scratch my back and ....:)

·