RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK new guy here.

So I have a young dog (1.5 years) that has a bad attitude ( ears and head down at the line) until I hit the noise maker or break out some fresh birds. I have no doubt I have brought this on myself through my in-experience and poorly timed corrections ect ect.... beat me up if you want - I am fairly new to this game..BUT that said what would your method be to bring a dog out of this??? He is a happy retriever in fun-toss situations be it bumpers or birds but some where down the road to where we are things have gotten stressful and not as fun for him in the field.

Thanks in advance

O.clarki

·
Registered
224 Posts
First, take a step back and make it fun for him again. Back off the pressure and make things simple for him again. Secondly, if he's having issues at the line don't let him have retrieves until he acts correctly. Without more info those are my suggestions.

Remember dogs learn by association, so if he's being punished at the line all the time he probably doesn't want to do anything in fear of corrections.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Welcome to the forum, I'm sure you'll find it a great resource. Well, you are where you are, but I'm not exactly sure where that is! It would be a help if you could be a bit more specific.

So in training you take him into the blind and he cowers and looks miserable, but if you operate the Bumper Boy type quacker thing he perks up and looks for a retrieve and outside the blind he's a happy camper who retrieves willingly. Have I got that bit right? When you say "in the field" do mean real live hunting or the training ground? If you could clarify things for the boys and girls it would help them to form a judgement.

Things to ponder and maybe come back on...

Is he really OK with gun fire?
Does the blind itself spook him as you approach it?
What was he doing when you mistimed the corrections?