RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the world of labs (as a kid I had a beagle and Irish setter) but it seems like Halle's not handling the heat all to well. The past couple days of high 70s and low 80s is putting a hurting on her. I can only imagine how the heat of summer will affect her. What do you guys do to keep your dogs cool in the heat? I'm giving lots of water and trying to limit heavy physical exertion, but it's only March...

·
Registered
390 Posts
I am one who has one that will go until he drops like most, he has done it twice. Like ourselves, you have to gradually work your dog up to tolerating the heat and/or humidity. What I do is limit the retriever training or upland training times, give lots of water, and fans, I have 4 in my truck, if it does get bad, then in the cab he goes for some AC. I also try to do my work outs early in the morning while it is still cool if my schedule allows it. Al this now applies to my 10 month old pup who is also Black.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice. I get to take her to work with me and I normally air her out every few hours, but this week has been noticeably harder on her. We just went for our evening run (little over a mile) and she's DONE! I gave her ice and it seemed to help. I guess we'll transition to morning runs and do longer sessions earlier in the day (vs a few during the day).

·
Registered
2,179 Posts
Even though I have yellows, they are conditioned physically which helps them tolerate the heat. I gradually increase their run times and water them while they exercise. I do all this once the sun starts to fade.
If your going to be running HT they have to be able to handle the heat.
Little word to the wise if you do water work, don't put a hot wet dog in the dog box tie him out in the shade till he cools off.

·
Registered
7,270 Posts