RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been stalking forums and have seen conversations throughout on Boykins. I was on a waiting list for a AWS when a local breeder, I’ve known and hunted with his dog, had a buyer not be able to pick up one of his Boykin pups. I decided to take her instead of wait for the AWS. BTw, David McKracken(professor) was invaluable in my search for an AWS. I’ve trained a meat dog lab according to Richard Walters in my late teens, a Chessie to a couple finished passes according to Smartworks material in my twenties, and another chessie in my 30’s to senior hunter caliber moving into finished work when we lost her. I say that to say I am an amateur but not clueless with dogs, hopefully my 40’s will be the decade of Boykins. With this Boykin, now 12 weeks today, I got her at 9 weeks, I have been following Hillman’s puppy protocol. I would love to talk about their tendencies in order to have fair expectations for the dog. My biggest difference from previous dogs is the desire for retrieving. She retrieves but it isn’t her favorite thing to do yet. She has crazy prey drive, we live on a farm and she is never not hunting but with my retrievers a thrown bumper or bird was like giving them candy to help their attitude or as a reward. Retrieving doesn’t do that to her yet. I bet I could take her upland hunting right now and she would be great. Her nose is on the ground and she wants to find something!

I would love any feedback and look forward to learning from y’alls experience. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,804 Posts