RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
455 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have seen some people breeding dogs that are CNM carriers. Is it not 100% that it will carry on to the puppies? I am new to this and when I was looking at puppies and saw that I didn't give it a second look. Then, browsing I saw that they bred Patton to a CNM carrier and he is clear so I was wondering how that works. Maybe, I shouldn't look at it as a bad thing?

·
Registered
1,803 Posts
When breeding a CNM clear dog to a carrier, half the litter will be clear and half will be carriers. No affected pups will be produced unless two carriers of CNM are bred.

·
Registered
3,345 Posts
When a carrier is bred to a clear, some puppies will be clear and some will be carriers, none will be affected.

It is the object of the test to identify carriers so that 2 carriers will not be bred and produce puppies that are affected by this disease.

·
Registered
301 Posts
When breeding a CNM clear dog to a carrier, half the litter will be clear and half will be carriers. No affected pups will be produced unless two carriers of CNM are bred.
Statistically there would be an expected 50/50 mix. In reality it is unlikely that you'd see a perfect 1:1 ratio in a given litter and you could get any mix of carriers to clear.

·
Registered
1,357 Posts
Jerrold Bell, professor at Tufts University, has written some informative articles on genetics and dog breeding. I remember he suggested that when one of these DNA tests for a recessive defect becomes available, that

1. It can be used to ensure that affected puppies are not produced (by including at least one "clear" parent in every breeding).

2. It can make it possible to use otherwise-high-quality "carriers" and even "affecteds," allowing them to contribute their strengths to a breeding program and the breed as a whole