RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think I saw some one mention in a post about feeding adult food at an earlier age. Would some one be so kind as to tell me a little more about this? And also suggest a good age to put my puppy on adult food.

·
Registered
20 Posts
I don't know what others will say, but my vet told me to switch to an adult large breed dog food at 8 mos. (He said bone growth is essentially complete at 8 mos).

This will be interesting to see what others think about this. :)

Nicki

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I hope this doesnt start any fuss or anything. I am kinda new at this and really trying to learn all I can. I get on here everyday, I hope I dont come across as a lurker. But I believe a fella trying to learn should keep his mouth shut and his ears open

·
Registered
7,700 Posts
The dog should have gone through the rapid growth period so at least until 6-8 months. The reasoning behind it is if a dog is placed on adult food and is in a rapid growth stage it MAY consume more of a lower protein/calorie/fat adult food than he would a large breed puppy food and therefore would consume more calcium which can lead to joint problems. Prior to large breed puppy foods, people were advised to switch to adult food early because regular puppy food was too high in protein and fat and they got too heavy because of additional food especially with lack of exercise. If your dogs are exercised properly everyday you could have them on performance and have no problems. I have also fed puppy to dogs up until a year or more depending on the dog. I too feed according to the dog, meaning less active dogs go on adult maintenance and more active on performance. I also adjust my adult dogs according to weight.

·
Registered
173 Posts