RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all!!! I have a question concern about e-collar and my 4month 2week old black lab...I am new to retriever training (hunting) and have a concern about the e-collar....first off I am not against it at all, it is a tool and should be used as such....I cant believe the difference it makes in the response of the dog...I havent used it a lot but the collar is on him whenever we do go out kinda of the just in case thingy......I have used it in training like the Hillmann or the Evans dvds have outlined but I dont want to use it "to much" I was just wondering what everyone here does or would do with a pup this age and so on and so forth...

Hope that doesnt sound to confusing....

camo

·
Registered
227 Posts
only use the collar to reinforce what the dog already knows....dont use it to introduce new things...this is my opinion and has worked for me

however, you must collar condition your dog before jumping right into using it. I used Mike Lardy's collar conditioning program, but there are others out there.

I didnt CC until about 6 months old...there are varying opinions on whether or not to CC or FF first...find a program, have patience, stick with it, and most importantly, have fun training and watching your pup grow and learn new stuff....good luck!

·
Registered
369 Posts
only use the collar to reinforce what the dog already knows....dont use it to introduce new things...this is my opinion and has worked for me

however, you must collar condition your dog before jumping right into using it. I used Mike Lardy's collar conditioning program, but there are others out there.

I didnt CC until about 6 months old...there are varying opinions on whether or not to CC or FF first...find a program, have patience, stick with it, and most importantly, have fun training and watching your pup grow and learn new stuff....good luck!
Well said!:cool:

·
Registered
234 Posts