RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Banx - Boykin Spaniel
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I just purchased my first ecollar, the Garmin Sport Pro. I have done tons and tons of research on different collars and was trying to stay around the $250 range. I absolutely do not plan to actually use any stim or CC for another couple weeks as I hit OB hard in the mean time. Just have Banx wearing the collar around and getting used to it.

My concern - I was under the impression that a lot of times the working level for a dog is less than what is registerable on the human skin. Obviously wanting to know what the different stim levels felt like, a level 1 was EASILY registerable on my hand, wrist, arm, and neck, etc. I have never used an ecollar before, but the level 1 stim seams a quite high compared to what I was expecting.

For example, a couple well known dog trainers (not gun dog trainers) on the ole youtube use the Ecollar Tech Mini Educator, and show tremendous results (more for house pets, but also a lot of GSD) on a level 5 or 6 (out of 100) and the normal human doesn't even feel the stim until around a level 12-15 on those collars...

Wondering on everyones thoughts in case I should get this traded in for something with more control on the lower end. Being my first ever dog, and first ever ecollar, I want to make sure I have everything in my favor in the CC process.

Thanks!
Jordan

·
Registered
Banx - Boykin Spaniel
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I also just had my wife try it to ensure I wasn't just being a wimp, and same thing... Level 1 stim, she pulled away and said it felt like a burn...

·
Registered
12,356 Posts
You may have just become the first person in RTF history to admit strapping an e-collar to your wife!