RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone, I've been reading on the forums for a little while and finally decided to join. I am a newbie dog trainer with my first pup. She's a Chesapeake Bay Retriever and Black Lab mix from an accidental litter of two purebreds with strong hunting backgrounds. She's just over 7 months. She's made quite a bit of progress over the past few months. She's very good with obedience, gun fire, and retrieving. I've gotten her into single marks, blinds, and even some doubles and she has done quite well, at least until the last couple of weeks.

Lately I've been having issues with her losing interests in her retrieves. She'll run strong to the bumper, sniff it, and then wander off. I haven't had this issue until the last couple of weeks. I generally come home from work in the middle of the day to take her out and work with her for 15-20 minutes and then again when I get off work. In that time I normally throw 8 or 10 retrieves at most in each session.

Since it's been warming up I've been mixing in going to the lake every other day. She does fine there and stays very excited the whole time.

Is she getting bored? Possibly too hot? Not enough stimulation? Or am I just pushing her too much too soon?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
893 Posts
Could be teething???? Mine had teething issues at late 6 month time frame, seven months wouldnt be unheard of..... Just a possibility.....

·
Registered
1,768 Posts
Chasing a bumper is God given, bring it back is man made... When they are very young we get them to bring it back with pure excitement (and some times the use of a rope) when they get older you finish the retrieve processes by force breaking a dog to fetch.

Great lookin' pup and water there! Don't buy into the pure bred mess unless you plan to run AKC/UKC events, its just a dog pickin up birds otherwise.

·
Registered
946 Posts