RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from south-central NE. Been reading here for a little while and I have a training question that I'm sure you guys will have the answer to.

The background: I have a 14 month old lab that I have had since she was 8.5 months. She was wholly untrained when I got her. Spent the first couple months on obedience and exercise (she was overweight). I have now gone through collar conditioning, force training, and am currently working on steadying and forcing to pile. This is the first dog I have really trained. Growing up I had a couple labs that retrieved a million or so doves for me, but weren't really trained at all. So...I'm really new at this. I'm using the 10-minute training by John and Amy Dahl as a general guide. I didn't force things over the winter, but got a couple sessions a week in and a couple more just in the field on long walks for her to experience new things...she wasn't introduced to much as a pup.

When I got done with force training (except for pile work), Josie was solid with the bumper. Good mouth, would move well with the bumper, solid fetching without playing with the bumper. After about 3 weeks of steadying and forcing to pile every day, she's gotten really sloppy with her mouth. Not holding onto the bumper, rolling it around in her mouth, etc. I feel like I need to go back and work on fetching and holding, but I don't want to stop moving forward with other stuff.

So, my question: When you guys go back like that to "fix" stuff, do you keep introducing new stuff to your dogs? I'd like to spend 5 to 10 minutes on the refresher stuff, then more time on newer stuff, but I don't want to throw too much at her. So far, she's done everything I have asked from her.