RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You see, I do love Field Trails. I love looking for a winner, placements and jams. I love the competition, the training, the whole sport and all that goes into it. But that is not where I belong.

I am a Hunt Test Person. To me, the Hunt Test game, as described in our Rule Book, is kind of like school and I’m an old school teacher.

Jr:
Elementary School
Senior: High School
Master: College
Graduate School: Master National

We want our dogs (students and handlers) to be the best they can be. We are not looking for a winner or even the best dog. We appreciate a dog that puts forth effort and can pass with a “C”. We celebrate the A+ students, the gifted ones. We want our dogs to graduate from a level with at least a C average, just as we want and expect of our children. Of course we want an A or B, but we may not get it. Sometimes we even hire a tutor (I had one for Spanish in High School and Statists in College) to get that “C” grade. Man, was I proud of those C’s and so was my Dad.

A person can graduate from High School or College with a "C" average. We do want our students (children or dogs) to put forth effort to be the best they can be. Will some fail? Yes, they will; if they don't meet the minimum standard, that's just the way it is. Should we ask more of our dogs than we do our children? No... How would we feel if High Schools or collages only graduated A and B students and failed the C student?