RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 427 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 6 yr old golden bitch along the Mioak's line. She & I have accomplished a MH & WCX. She's a great marker, hits the H2O strong, doesn't quit. I'm looking for a darker red stud - my question is, do I look for an FC AFC etc etc or ?
I had a list of FC AFC, AFTCH etc, but was asked why only titled studs.
My response was why not?
I've got an MH, why wouldn't I look to improve the line?

Any and all comments are welcome - I'm a novice at this!

·
Registered
3,637 Posts
The first dog that comes to mind when you mention dark red is Steve Low's Cody. Such a nice, nice dog. The "2 Jake's" too are wonderful dogs. I hope he doesn't string me up for suggesting this, but the authority (in my book) is Jim Pickering. He really knows Golden lines & is unbiased.

M

·
Registered
317 Posts
I would seriously look at Mike and Val Ducross's male "PUSH" he is by far the nicest running golden I have ever seen. He is not what you would call a dark golden but is a medium for sure. With the year he had in 05 he is hard to beat

Mike LaFond
Baby Duck Labradors

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I really appreciate the feedback!!!

Unfortunately Push is too close - I've checked!
His sire is my bitch's grandsire.

If you have more suggestions - I'm all ears!

·
Registered
584 Posts
Miriam Wade said:
I hope he doesn't string me up for suggesting this, but the authority (in my book) is Jim Pickering. He really knows Golden lines & is unbiased.
M
I might agree with you if I could remember everything that Melanie has told me about Goldens, but age and the booze have killed too many of the remember cells.

goldensrock wrote
I have a 5 1/2 yr old golden bitch along the Mioak's line.
Unfortunately Push is too close - I've checked!
His sire is my bitch's grandsire.
Interesting. Would love to see the pedigree.

·
Registered
573 Posts
What about AFC Steeple Hill Ranger?