RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
2,481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Thought this would be a good one to discuss. I have one that Mark Smith, after going out in an Open with Buster, says" You don't send HIM on a blind.....you release him !! " He is very hard to thread a needle through a tight keyhole because he kicks dirt up on the casts. Those second and third series Opens are kicking his butt. Oh, Cosmo son,repeat of Ali.

·
Registered
7,268 Posts
I'm probably all wet because I'm still a newbie, but a lot of the blinds I've seen seem much more suited to slow dogs that's for sure. I have one that comes back from blinds with the hair up in his back from excitement. I don't look forward to crashing and burning on all-age blinds with him.

·
Registered
15,660 Posts
Probably in the minority of opinions, but asking any dog to hit a keyhole at a distance is like asking a golfer to hit the flag from the fairway, now asking the dog to make an angled water entry just a few yards off the pad seems reasonable

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
I have a dog like that as well. If you wait to make your cast through the keyhole when the dog is right close to it, he'll flair the cover because it's easier to run around when their back is against the cover rather than turn super tight to go through it. Make your cast a lot earlier and teach the dog to carry the line through the keyhole rather than wait until they on top of the factor and hope they turn tight enough to get through. One thing that might work is to instead of battling that out in the field, go back to the yard and teach some key hole no/no drills. Just like running over or challenging objects in their path, teach the dog to split tall or seek out keyholes.

·
Registered
9,775 Posts
Fast dogs need handlers with good reflexes and anticipatory skills, I ran one and as the handler you must be on your toes, just because they are fast doesn't mean they should not be under control.

·