RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
11 week old female lab loves to shake and chew anything she can get her little mouth on. I've been using the lip on her teeth to get her to let go of anything otherwise she wants to play tug of war. I'm a novice and don't know much about what is normal and what isn't. I've been using the Dokken but she chews that or any bumper with a rope she'll grab the rope and shake her head so hard I'd think her head was going to fall off. I don't even want to get near anymore wings(chews and shakes them and runs off) and much less real birds in fear that she'll learn to love eating them or tearing them apart.
Is this just her puppy-ness or how should I try to work on it? Hillmann doesn't seem to address this issue in the puppy DVD? Any tips or advice would be awesome. Thanks.

·
Registered
225 Posts
This sounds totally normal for any puppy. My guess, is that your pup is teething. The normal range to lose those baby teeth, is the 3-7 mos. range. Chewing and biting relieves the pain and pressure that they feel during the teething process. The best way to combat this, is to make sure that anything you don't want chewed up is picked up and put away, and make sure you provide her with lots of safe things she can chew on, like Nylabones, or Kong toys (which you can put treats and peanut butter in.

Rolling her lip over her teeth will probably work well if she's biting you, if you combine it with teaching her a command like "gentle" so she has some idea what behavior you do expect from her. In order to get her to release a forbidden item though, it might be easier to exchange it for an item she can chew for now. Teething is a tough process, and the pup really does have a need to chew.