RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,666 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
…a young dog is asked to step up to more technical setups?
For the most part, I’ve been training my own labs since 1981. I’ve never experienced any of my dogs, nor have I seen any of my training partner’s dogs throttle down to half speed when introduced to more difficult setups.
My girl just aged out of derbies. She had been driving really hard on both land and water marks. She’s still going hard on her blinds.
Once we started adding the 3rd and 4th birds to our setups her pace cut in half. She’s actually doing a really good job completing the setups but seems very methodical in doing so.
It seems as though she’s thinking or being careful. Physically, her ears kindof go up and back. She seems to slowly pick up her pace as she goes.
Have any of you all experienced anything like this?

·
Registered
1,733 Posts
I am sure I am not as experienced a trainer as many people here, but her demeanor and ear position sounds like worry—worried about a new concept and concerned about doing it right.

Time and confidence should help.

Meredith

·
Registered
2,719 Posts
I have not experienced this but sometimes I wish my current 3 year old would slow down as long as she is doing the marks well. Depending on the dog WORRY can be a good thing. I throw bigger more complicated set ups for her for this exact reason hoping it will force her to slow down and think and focus a bit more.

·
Registered
1,962 Posts
…a young dog is asked to step up to more technical setups?
It seems as though she’s thinking or being careful. Physically, her ears kindof go up and back. She seems to slowly pick up her pace as she goes.
Have any of you all experienced anything like this?