RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey folks.

I have a 2.5 yr old male. This summer at a hunt test, the honor dog, a 105 lb male with a history of going after other dogs, left his handler's side and came straight at my dog aggressively. We broke it up before fur started to fly hot and heavy. That dog was DQ'd. The next day, I was dog #1, and that mean so and so, was the bye dog, so at the line to honor again. I was walking toward the holding blind with my dog comfortably at heel, looking at that mean sucker, wondering why he was allowed to compete (I'm new at this game). Anyhow, from at least 20 yards away, that dog turns around and runs straight at my dog, and the mother of all fights was on. Fur was flying. I was kicking at the other dog to get it away, after trying to separate them. This was bad guys. Finally, a lady picked up a chair and threw it at the other dog and it went away long enough for me to get my lead on my dog. Thankfully, my dog got away with only a cut on his nose.

At the next hunt test, a month later, this dog again left the honor position and went after another dog coming out of the holding blind.

Fast forward a few months. Now I have a dog who was once friendly and wanted to play with all the dogs in the neighborhood on walks, with his hair raised and fangs bared whenever any male dog comes near him. He's not to the point of wanting to go after them leaving my side, but he is seriously on the defensive, and ready to fight if the male comes near. I am frustrated to no end, and at a loss as to what to do in hopes of getting my pleasant boy back again.

Currently, I am looking after my buddies 11 yr old male, as his female is in heat. I have tried getting them to be friends, but have had no luck at all.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
9,620 Posts
To address your problem, I would seek the advice of a qualified animal behaviorist.