RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Early yesterday morning, I delivered ducks to the Hunting Working Airedale Club for their Nationals, held near Chillicothe, OH. I've been helping the club with that for probably 5 years now. I stayed to watch a few run - essentially a simple Junior Hunter water series. Earlier this year, AKC also approved entry of Airedales in AKC Hunting Tests. You'll never see an Airedale running a field trial, but, you know, to my way of thinking, as long as the owners are having fun with their dogs and their dogs are having fun, that's most important.

·
Registered
3,204 Posts
They’ve actually been eligible to run AKC retriever hunt tests for over two years but I’ve not heard of any that have gone beyond JH. They were allowed into then-AKC spaniel, now AKC flushing HTs 10-12 years before that. Always amused at the thought of bear bite dogs (‘Dales) “handling” birds—

MG

·
Registered
4,657 Posts
Having had an Airedale, I can tell you honestly that the dogs are probably laughing all the way to the bird.

• Haha
Reactions: crackerd

·
Registered
471 Posts
In his first job while still in college a long, long time ago, my husband worked with and hunted with a fellow who had great Airedale pheasant dogs (they didn't like water very much though.) Hunting birds with Airedales started back in the UK. The most famous hunting Airedales might be Walter Lingo's back in the 20's/30's. Lingo was from Ohio and owned the Oorang Indians football team. The team, with the great Jim Thorpe as a player, was used to promote the Airedale breeding operation.

King Oorang Airedales - Ohio History Central

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·