RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now I'm new to this and have a 6 month old chocolate lab. He is not to fond of loud noises he is not only gunshy he doesn't like the noise of loud clapping... I need to fix this. Any help? I have been setting his food bowl down and trying to walk a bit away and clap while he eats but this seems to scare him as well.

·
Registered
5,252 Posts
If you clapped while I was eating I'd probably be scared too. I know many people do this but it certainly isn't something you have to do. I've only introduced 5 pups to gun fire and its always been after the pup is retrieving with great enthusiam. Then one day you just shoot before throwing a mark at 100 yards or so. The pups don't even acknowledge the shot they are so intent on getting the bird. Gradually move the gunner closer until you can shoot overthe dog.

I think the key to the whole deal is having a pup that really wants to retrieve the bird. How is your pups drive?

The best step by step intro to gun fire I've seen is George Hickox.
Go here: http://www.georgehickox.com/about_george_hickox_bird_dog_training_articles.html Read Gun Sense.
or you can get the retriever dvd and see it in action.

·
Registered
2,649 Posts
I introduce the dog to noises while he is eating. I will stand some distance and make noise while he is eating. Every couple of days I move a couple of feet closer as long as the dog is not bothered by the sound. I will use a cap pistol.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
How far would you recommend starting away from the dog while eating? Also what type of cap pistol and where could I pick one up?

·
Registered
340 Posts