RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
on another forum when i showed pics of my pup a few people (at least 3) reccomended using ivomec cattle heartworm medication. rntquackaholic, who is a member here, said that her dog still got heartworms after using heartgard every month.

is it 100% safe for ivomec? (i was told as long as he didnt test positive it was ok but if he was positive it might kill him)

they reccomended 1/10cc per 10lbs swallowed...

·
Registered
392 Posts
I've been using it for about 15 years with no adverse reaction except on a Border Collie, it is not recommended for collies. My daughter used heart guard and her dog tested positive for heart worms so we put her on Ivomec and one year later she was clear. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
37 Posts
One bottle will last a very long time. Yes, it is expensive, but the amount of applications will out weigh the cost. Yes, you are correct on the amount 1/10CC for 10 lbs. 1CC = 100LBS

·
Registered
7,752 Posts
Both these products contain the same active ingredient (ivermectin), no? If Heartgard doesn't work, why would Ivomec be any better?
There is a difference in concentration in Heartguard and straight Ivermectin.
I have been using Ivomec for over 20 years on Labs with no problems if you dose correctly.

·
Registered
792 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
One bottle will last a very long time. Yes, it is expensive, but the amount of applications will out weigh the cost. Yes, you are correct on the amount 1/10CC for 10 lbs. 1CC = 100LBS
just for everyone else's sake 50 bucks for 50mLs. an 80lb dog would need .8cc or .8mLs a month. that equates to 62 months or 5 years.

heartgard brown (51-100) is 28 bucks for a year's supply.

roughly double the price for 5 times the length of service.