RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,315 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For a long time now I have often thought about asking this question, but did not have the confidence to do so.

As I had only attended prenational training and one trial, and with that being the AM National last year, I had a limited view on your "dog" requirements.

Now that I am an expert, LOL, (thankyou all, for not belittling my short 6 week recent stay - but we are coming back), and know many of the desired traits.

The first time I was asked during my recent visit, how would I rate US labradors against Australian labradors and their NATURAL ability I was horrified. After being asked the question by many my answer became the same.

With Andrew and I planning to move over for a couple of years I was very interested in observing AKC hunt tests and the weekend field trials. Purely on a selfish view, thinking why move over, if our dogs could not compete in your games. I could still learn in the US (huge plus) and Andrew could still go hunting (big plus). Would I end up doing fly ball (never do it in Australia but it was an option) the whole two years? I now feel confident our dogs would be successful, from what I saw, in the AKC master tests. In regards to field trials, my confidence continues into Derbys and Quals. All Age, I am sitting on the fence, but with the right training and a good dog I feel that great Australian labradors have the ability.

I enjoy what I call the suicidal trainable labrador, as force is still a mystery to me in many respects.

One thing Australian breeding could promise is no EIC, thyroid, muscular myopathy, or retinal dysplasia. Hips have been routinely xrayed, elbows cleared and eyes CERF's every year.

This is not a marketing ploy. My friends in the US who have seen good Australian labradors all agree - $hit yeah, Australian dogs could play our games (honest compliment I hope!!!!)

No other country tests like our countries.