RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 6 ½ month old black lab that I started hold training on last Friday. For today’s drills I started working with him on moving from one side of the tailgate to the other while holding a roller paint brush. For his first attempt at moving while holding an object I was happy with the progress that we made this morning. One thing that I have noticed is that he has a very soft hold. Sometimes the roller nearly falls out while moving back and forth on the tail gate. Will this tighten up as we continue with training or should I work with him on getting it tightened up now? I was thinking that as I continue to work with him and have him hold heaver objects (wooden dowel, bumpers, water bottles, .ect…..) that his hold will naturally tighten up. This is my first time trying to get a dog through FF, I would like to know if I need to bite this in the bud now instead of trying to fix a bad habit latter.

Mike

·
Registered
2,577 Posts
I have a 6 ½ month old black lab that I started hold training on last Friday. For today’s drills I started working with him on moving from one side of the tailgate to the other while holding a roller paint brush. For his first attempt at moving while holding an object I was happy with the progress that we made this morning. One thing that I have noticed is that he has a very soft hold. Sometimes the roller nearly falls out while moving back and forth on the tail gate. Will this tighten up as we continue with training or should I work with him on getting it tightened up now? I was thinking that as I continue to work with him and have him hold heaver objects (wooden dowel, bumpers, water bottles, .ect…..) that his hold will naturally tighten up. This is my first time trying to get a dog through FF, I would like to know if I need to bite this in the bud now instead of trying to fix a bad habit latter.

Mike
Mike,