RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice trainer and am scratching my head on this marking issue. I am running my 10 month old pup off a mound to a land, water, land mark. Its about 50 yards from line to waters edge, then about a 30 yard swim and then about 20 yard to bird. The mark is off a winger with attention getting sound and primer pop then bird thrown from my right to left with white shirt hung off winger. If I throw mark with winger, pup leaves line as if she never saw mark stopping at waters edge then looking back at me. If I walk out myself, shoot shotgun, throw mark, slowly walk back (3 to 5 minute delay) to the line and send her, she runs hard and pins mark. What am I missing????????

·
Registered
595 Posts
Ok im a novice too, but im thinking that you are asking your pup to do something thats too complicated right now. Try simplier marks. Just land or just water. Not both (not yet) get your dog successful on land then water, then combine them and add various features as your dog gets better.

Just my 2 cents...

·
Registered
456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I hear what your saying, but if I do the exact same mark with me throwing rather than winger and then sending from remote or walking back and sending her from my side she nails it.

·
Registered
456 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
She has no issues with land marks using same winger set up out to 300 yards or running same land water land mark with winger from waters edge.

·
Registered
5,252 Posts
She has no issues with land marks using same winger set up out to 300 yards or running same land water land mark with winger from waters edge.
So the only time you have an issue is with a long water entry (50 yards to water) to an up and out mark thrown with a winger?

Have you tried the same set up (long entry), to a bird thrown out in the water from a winger rather than throwm up and out?