RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still very very new at this and I am following a program. Fowl Dawgs. Want to obtain the started title this summer for my 7.5 month old pup. Problem is seems that the fowl dawg program and Lardy program split the training. the training now is more focused on getting them ready for swim by and handling while the started dog trials are marking focused.

How do you do both since I started with the title work the other has been placed on the back burner. OR should you try both? Her marking skills seem to lack at this age and have been told to give it time that it will improve with age. She does well on short marks but longer ones she stops short. Just wondering what others do to keep marking skills while teaching a young dog to do all the other pre handling skills necessary.

by the way the dog is fine it is the owner that seems overwhelmed..ha

also I would give her the following grades in the following task

Sit..90
Stay..95
come..85 only because she wants to wander after the retrieve and I have to get ugly at times
Heel 85
sit at distance .. 75 ...just started this
Hold.. 85
Retrieve to hand..85.. once again wandering issue
Finishing the retrieve..60 .. not really working on that yet
Sitting prior to dropping.. 90.. always does it when ask to
Force fetch.. 80.. think she needs a revisit
collar condition.. 70.. just started this week responding well

·
Registered
605 Posts
The short answer is that you are doing, and will be doing, both.

Here's Lardy's training flow chart (you can get a PDF verison from his website). Note that multiple things are going on at the same time as you progress.
So what you're trying to figure and experience is how much of one over the other in the same time span. Basically you try to even out the time, or better yet, attempts of the drill or drills you are working on.