RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm somewhat new to the retriever world, and only recently got into hunt tests and training. I had a litter about a year ago, sold some of the puppies to hunt test homes, and I feel that I've done a good job of keeping up with them. A family that I sold a female pup to owns a kennel that trains and runs their dogs in hunt tests, and I thought I had made a good choice sending her there. I recently saw that they have now acquired a charcoal male.... I do not currently know what their plans are regarding this new dog, but I strongly disagree with breeding any dilute dogs, not because they may not make good "pets", but because it's against breed standard and I feel that anybody actively breeding them are doing a great disservice to the breed. She has no dilute in her pedigree, so I am not concerned with her throwing dilutes if bred with this dog, but in the long run, I want NOTHING to do with having my name connected to any dilutes. What is the best way to handle this? I have refrained from saying anything to these people as of yet, and I don't want to upset them so much that they decide to spite me. This also has me now thinking of registering any future litters with limited registration instead of full... Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
2,854 Posts
I don't think there is much you can do. The dog is now theirs and they have the right to breed her as they see fit, as frustrating as that is.
If she does not carry the dilute gene, I'd think they'd not want to breed her to the charcoal stud?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #3