Troy Williams· Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Per the Arkansas Dem Gazette:
................... it goes on to say................".....all dog owners in Arkansas will be required to register their animals at an official state canine weigh station and pay a fee depending on the dog's weight.
The cacnine cost will be $1 per pound. As with the tag fees for vehicles the canine fee deals directly with the amount of wear and tear on the public walking paths and the aggregate waste depsoits that must be removed by public parks and sanitation employees.
Who has to pay? Holderson (Ar. State Senator-D) said, "And easy way to recall is to remember your ABC's."
A. All dogs must pay.
B. Bigger isn't better
C. Canines cost per pound
S. Service dogs are exempt.
The Legislature does expect to hear some grumblings from owners of larger dogs.
This being a hunting state, let's say you have a hunting dog or 20. A Labrador retriever or Golden retriever weighs between 65 - 80 lbs......
A redtick coonhound will weigh 40-65 lbs. The pounds add up.
Also be prepared to pay up for the latest ddeesigner breeds. A labradoodle or afollie will cost you $55 to $75 starting Oct.1, but a dachsadane can be $130 (and they can't much get off the ground).