RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
She will be a late bloomer or ill have to try something else. This is my first try at training.

I cant get her excited, not for lack of trying. She will pick up the small puppy bumper, but only gets excited about a toy in the house with a squeeker.

She is walking on the lead well, and getting the idea with sit. I'm using hillmans. She has two other dogs to pester and she just loves that.

When i do finally get her excited she will pick up a couple throws. I try and work in some obedience while trying to keep her spirits up. My sessions are under 5 min and end up mostly being a walk off lead.

·
Registered
4,679 Posts
You've had her what, 2 weeks? She's a puppy, they don't all fetch on a timeline. Possibly you are doing too much obedience stuff, maybe confusing her, possibly she's playing and having too much fun with the other dogs and you're just making it work and boring. Only play fetch with her when she's fully rested. Don't do anything else, don't mix in the obedience stuff yet, just pump her up about whatever toy, bumper, etc and toss it a couple feet down the hall, praise her like heck if she goes to it, try to encourage her to bring it back, make it very, very exciting, repeat a few times. If she doesn't pick it up, no big deal, try again the next day. It will happen. If she does pick it up and bring it back, lots of praise and excitment and don't throw more than a few times for now. If you're getting frustrated already, she's going to know it, so just relax and have fun with her, it isn't a race, if she's decently bred, she'll get into it eventually.

·
Registered
7,753 Posts
I cant get her excited, not for lack of trying. She will pick up the small puppy bumper, but only gets excited about a toy in the house with a squeeker.