RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to RetrieverTraining.net. I've got a lot of experience with Field Trial beagles from 40+ years ago. Since then, I've had some bird dogs, one of which went to a professional trainer. I was not so good at training them myself. I've had one rescue lab that I trained for retrieving and did okay.

I just put down a deposit on Lab from a hunt test/field trial breeding and I want to do a better of job of training him this time. So here's my question.

What's your experience with Online Training Courses? I've used the search function and get "Retriever Online", (a magazine?) for most of the results. I googled online courses and put their names into the search function and it seems that only Cornerstone Gundog Academy gets any mentions.

I prefer online style courses simply because they're convenient. My DVD player is in the basement on a shelf. I learn a ton from books but I think videos is a better media for this.

What's your experience?

Thank in advance.

·
Registered
1,045 Posts
Your time and money is better spent with a local pro or successful amateur group.
Retriever training is a team sport...you need live humans to help you.
Personally I don't know of any decent online retriever courses.
Best of luck.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Your time and money is better spent with a local pro or successful amateur group.
Retriever training is a team sport...you need live humans to help you.
Personally I don't know of any decent online retriever courses.
Best of luck.
You may be right. I joined a local club and am going to my second training day tomorrow to help even though I don't have a dog yet. I'm doing my best to cover all of the bases.

·
Registered
4,133 Posts
You may be right. I joined a local club and am going to my second training day tomorrow to help even though I don't have a dog yet. I'm doing my best to cover all of the bases.