RetrieverTraining.Net - the RTF banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to this so please bear with me. I was wondering how everyone felt about using an e-collar while hunting. Is that a good idea? I recently have had my lab trained and will be going out this season on his first hunt.

Any input would be appreciated!

·
Registered
807 Posts
hunting

i never leave home with out one. early in the morning at the boat ramp i at least want to know that i can pull my dog away from other dogs running wild i haven't had to use it but i can't tell you how many dogs have jumped in to my boat. so i'm a better safe than sorry kind of guy

·
Registered
12,476 Posts
i never leave home with out one. early in the morning at the boat ramp i at least want to know that i can pull my dog away from other dogs running wild i haven't had to use it but i can't tell you how many dogs have jumped in to my boat. so i'm a better safe than sorry kind of guy

x2 yup yup!

·
Registered
977 Posts
We do, and I have spoken with many people who recommend it. Even if you don't use it, it's always better to have that little "ace in the hole" available in case something unexpected happens. The one caveat might be: use common sense about leaving a collar on your dog if you're hunting in an area with a lot of downed brushy trees or other hazards where the dog might get hung up on the collar. Safety first.

·
Registered
2,672 Posts
Mine always has one around her neck when hunting! I use a Tri-Tronics Pro 500
And it keeps Queen from breaking and snatching birds out of other dog's mouths, too.
ROTFL.
Sorry, just couldn't help myself.

·
Registered
288 Posts